Free web hosting


Thought I would share a nice little gem I stumbled across. Many times, I’ve wanted/needed some web hosting for a personal project or for one of my side projects at work. Now, of course I could run something off my home machine, but sometimes you want better up-time, sometimes you want a more permanent home for your content, and sometimes you just are just tired of maintaining a web server.

Now, while the name seems amateur-ish, stick with me. Check out 000webhost (had to link to Google results as WordPress thinks I’m trying to make money as an affiliate). I know, I know, the name’s wierd, but check out what you can get with a FREE account:

  • 1500 MB of Disk Space, 100 GB Bandwidth per month
  • Host your own domain (http://www.yourdomain.com) or buy a domain from 000webhost
  • cPanel Powered Hosting
  • Over 500 website templates provided
  • WYSIWYG website builder
  • Five free POP3 Email accounts with a Webmail frontend
  • FTP and Web based file manager
  • PHP, up to 2 MySQL databases, Apache webserver
  • 99% uptime
  • Weekly backups
  • Cron capability
  • htaccess protected directories

Obviously there are some benefits to having a premium account, but I was really impressed with what you can get for free. Anyway, just posting this in case anyone might find it useful.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Care to share your two cents?

