Home > Fun IT Projects, Utilities And Other Useful Things > WordPress: Twenty Eleven Child Theme with Galleria Slider

WordPress: Twenty Eleven Child Theme with Galleria Slider


OK – I’ve been spending the last few hours getting acquainted with the WordPress backend (that sounds more risque than I had intended) and making my first custom ‘child’ theme.

If you have an interest in making custom themes and you’re just getting started, I’ve got a few very generic tips:

  • Don’t underestimate how complex some of the themes and frameworks can be
  • Start by creating a child theme or modifying an existing theme
  • Check out this tutorial on PressCoders

The tutorial on PressCoders is very clear, so I won’t re-invent the wheel and write a tutorial on making child themes. Instead, I wanted to share the child theme that I made. Basically, I’ve taken the Twenty Eleven theme and replaced the static header image with a dynamic image slider (using Galleria). You can check out a live demo, otherwise here’s a quick screenshot:

alexdglover_twentyeleven_slider

Anyways, as simple as it is, I’ve learned a lot from the exercise. If you want to use the theme or take a look at the code, here’s the package.

Thanks for reading.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Care to share your two cents?

